Haggadah Section: -- Four Children

What We Can Learn About Mental Health from Passover Traditions?

Passover, or Pesach, is a spring festival holiday that lasts eight days (some observe it for seven days) and celebrates the Exodus story. It is traditional on this holiday to have a Seder (ritual meal) and to eat matzah, a special cracker-like flat bread, instead of chametz (a variety of foods that rise from leavening). During most Seders, we read from a book called the Haggadah that retells the events of the Exodus so we remember our escape from bondage. Jews around the world perform the mitzvah (commandment) of passing along this tradition, and this story of liberation, to members of the next generation so they can connect with their Jewish heritage.

The Haggadah speaks of four types of children who react differently to the Passover Seder: the “wise” child, the “wicked” child, the “simple” child and the child who “doesn’t know how to ask.” From here it becomes our job to create an inclusive space where we can provide answers to questions raised by all of these children and help them engage in the Passover traditions. Each one is immersed in their own way, and we can learn something about mental wellness and how to create community from all of them.

Reading about these four children, we get to learn more about ourselves and how we can build more holistic, inclusive and affirming Jewish communities. These four archetypes aren’t here to teach us about children; they are here to teach us about our role in passing Judaism and its traditions l’dor va dor (from generation to generation).


Inspired to create
your own Haggadah?

Make your own Haggadah and share with other Seder lovers around the world

Have an idea
for a clip?

People like you bring their creativity to when they share their ideas in a clip

Support Us
with your donation

Help us build moments of meaning and connection through
home-based Jewish rituals.


contributor image
Esther Kustanowitz
4 Haggadahs44 Clips
contributor image
JQ International
1 Haggadah40 Clips
contributor image
MAZON: A Jewish Response to Hunger
5 Haggadahs109 Clips
contributor image
1 Haggadah13 Clips
contributor image
1 Haggadah78 Clips
contributor image
Truah: The Rabbinic Call for Human Rights
1 Haggadah36 Clips
contributor image
American Jewish World Service
1 Haggadah44 Clips
contributor image
3 Haggadahs57 Clips
contributor image
Repair the World
12 Clips
contributor image
5 Haggadahs48 Clips
contributor image
Be'chol Lashon
2 Haggadahs27 Clips
contributor image
PJ Library
1 Haggadah17 Clips
contributor image
Jewish World Watch
3 Haggadahs42 Clips
contributor image
Secular Synagogue
10 Clips
contributor image
1 Haggadah9 Clips
contributor image
The Blue Dove Foundation
20 Clips
contributor image
24 Clips
contributor image
Jewish Emergent Network
1 Haggadah22 Clips

Passover Guide

Hosting your first Passover Seder? Not sure what food to serve? Curious to
know more about the holiday? Explore our Passover 101 Guide for answers
to all of your questions.

Haggadot by Recustom, is a free resource for all backgrounds and experiences. Consider making a donation to help support the continuation of this free platform.

Copyright © 2024 Custom and Craft Jewish Rituals Inc, dba Recustom, dba
All Rights Reserved. 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization. EIN: 82-4765805.